British Open Golf Championship

The Open Championship, or as some people know it the British Open Golf Championship, is the only 1 of the 4 ‘Major’ golf tournaments that is held outside of the United States. The Open takes place annually in Great Britain. Each year a different golf course throughout Britain hosts the tournament.

The Royal Lytham & St. Annes Golf Course, located just outside Blackpool, has played host to this historic tournament on 11 occasions, 1926, 1952, 1958, 1963, 1969, 1974, 1979, 1988, 1996, 2001 and most recently the 2012 championship.

The Royal Lytham & St. Annes Golf Course has also played host to the Women’s British Open Golf Championship on 4 occasions, 1998, 2003, 2006 and 2009.